26TH OF MAY – MEMORIAL OF ST PHILIP NERI – GOSPEL READING – JOHN 17:20-26

TWENTY-SIXTH OF MAY

MEMORIAL OF ST PHILIP NERI

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION

Alleluia, alleluia!

Remain in my love, says the Lord;

whoever remains in me, with me in him,

bears fruit in plenty.

Alleluia!

GOSPEL READING

JOHN 17:20-26

A READING FROM THE HOLY GOSPEL ACCORDING TO JOHN

(MAY THEY BE COMPLETELY ONE.) 

Jesus raised his eyes to heaven and said:

“Holy Father,

I pray not only for these, 

but for those also 

who through their words will believe in me.

May they all be one.

Father, may they be one in us, 

as you are in me and I am in you, 

so that the world may believe

it was you who sent me.

I have given them the glory you gave to me,

 that they may be one as we are one.

With me in them and you in me, 

may they be so completely one 

that the world will realise 

that it was you who sent me 

and that I have loved them 

as much as you loved me.

Father,

 I want those you have given me 

to be with me where I am, 

so that they may always see the glory 

you have given me 

because you loved me 

before the foundation of the world.

Father, Righteous One,

the world has not known you, 

but I have known you, 

and these have known that you have sent me.

I have made your name known to them 

and will continue to make it known, 

so that the love with which you loved me 

may be in them,

 and so that I may be in them.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.) Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

PRAYER OVER THE OFFERINGS

As we offer you the sacrifice of praise,

O Lord,

we ask that by the example of Saint Philip

we may always give ourselves cheerfully

for the glory of your name

and the service of our neighbour.

Through Christ our Lord.

R.) Amen.

COMMUNION ANTIPHON

As the Father loves me,

so I also love you;

remain in my love 

alleluia.

PRAYER AFTER COMMUNION

Having fed upon these heavenly delights,

we pray, O Lord,

that in imitation of Saint Philip

we may always long for that food

by which we truly live.

Through Christ our Lord.

R.) Amen.

Leave a comment