6TH SUNDAY OF EASTER – YEAR B – GOSPEL READING – JOHN 15:9-17

SIXTH SUNDAY OF  EASTER

YEAR B

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION

Alleluia, alleluia!

Jesus said:

“If anyone loves me he will keep my word,

and my Father will love him,

and we shall come to him.”

Alleluia!

GOSPEL READING 

JOHN 15:9-17

A READING FROM THE HOLY GOSPEL ACCORDING TO JOHN

(A MAN CAN HAVE NO GREATER LOVE THAN TO LAY DOWN HIS LIFE FOR HIS FRIENDS.) 

Jesus said to his disciples,

“As the Father has loved me,

so I have loved you.

Remain in my love. 

If you keep my commandments

you will remain in my love,

just as I have kept my Father’s commandments

and remain in his love.

I have told you this

so that my own joy may be with you

and your joy be complete.

This is my commandment:

love one another, 

as I have loved you.  

A man can have no greater love

than to lay down his life for his friends.

You are my friends, 

if you do what I command you.

I shall not call you servants any more,

because a servant does not know

his master’s business;

I call you friends,  

because I have made known to you

everything I have learnt from my Father.

You did not choose me, 

no, I chose you;

and I commissioned you

to go out and to bear fruit,

fruit that will last;

and then the Father will give you

anything you ask him in my name.

What I Command you

is to love one another.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.)  Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

THE CREED

LATIN

Credo in unum Deum,

Patrem omnipotentem,

factorem cæli et terræ,

visibilium omnium et invisibilium.

Et in unum Dominum Iesum Christum,

Filium Dei Unigenitum,

et ex Patre natum ante omnia sæcula.

Deum de Deo, lumen de lumine,

Deum verum de Deo vero,

genitum, non factum, consubstantialem Patri:

per quem omnia facta sunt.

Qui propter nos homines

et propter nostram salutem

descendit de cælis.

(ALL BOW)

Et incarnatus est de Spiritu Sancto

ex Maria Virgine, et homo factus est.

Crucifixus etiam pro nobis sub Pontio Pilato;

passus  et sepultus est,

et resurrexit tertia die,

secundum Scripturas,

et ascendit in cælum,

sedet ad dexteram Patris.

Et iterum venturus est cum gloria,

iudicare vivos et mortuos,

cuius regni non erit finis.

Et in Spiritum Sanctum,

Dominum et vivificantem:

qui ex Patra Filioque procedit.

Qui cum Patre et Filio simul adoratur et conglorificatur:

qui locutus est per prophetas.

Et unam, sanctam, catholicam

et apostolicam Ecclesiam.

Confiteor unum baptisma in rermissionem peccatorum.

Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum,

et vitam venturi sæculi.

Amen.

ENGLISH

I believe in one God,

the Father almighty,

maker of heaven and earth,

of all things visible and invisible.

I believe in one Lord Jesus Christ,

the Only Begotten Son of God,

born of the Father before all ages.

God from God, light from light,

true God from true God,

begotten, not made,

consubstantial with the Father;

through him all things were made.

For us men and for our salvation

he came down from heaven,

(ALL BOW)

and by the Holy Spirit was incarnate of the Virgin Mary,

and became man.

For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate,

he suffered death and was buried,

and rose again on the third day

in accordance with the Scriptures.

He ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.

He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead

and his kingdom will have no end.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,

the Lord, the giver of life,

who proceeds from the Father and the Son,

who with the Father and Son is adored and glorified,

who has spoken through the prophets.

I believe in one,

holy, catholic and apostolic church.

I confess one Baptism for the forgiveness of sins

and I look forward to the resurrection of the dead

and the life of the world to come. 

Amen.

THE APOSTLES’ CREED

(OPTIONAL)

LATIN

Credo in Deum,

Patrem omnipotentem,

Creatorem cæli et terræ,

et in Iesum Christum,

Filium eius unicum,

Dominum nostrum,

(ALL BOW)

qui conceptus est de Spiritu Sancto,

natus ex Maria Virgine,

passus sub Pontio Pilato,

crucifixus, mortuus, et sepultus,

descendit ad inferos,

tertia die resurrexit a mortuis,

ascendit ad cælos,

sedet ad dexteram Dei Patris omnipotentis,

inde Venturus est iudicare vivos et mortuos.

Credo in Spiritum Sanctum,

sanctam Ecclesiam Catholicam,

sanctorum communionem,

remissionem peccatorum,

carnis resurrectionem,

vitam æternam.

Amen.

ENGLISH

I believe in God,

the Father almighty,

Creator of heaven and earth,

and in Jesus Christ,

his only Son,

our Lord,

(ALL BOW)

who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,

born of the Virgin Mary,

suffered under Pontius Pilate,

was crucified, died and was buried;

he descended into hell;

on the third day he rose again from the dead;

he ascended into heaven,

and is seated at the right hand of God

the Father almighty;

from there he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,

the holy Catholic Church,

the communion of saints,

the forgiveness of sins,

the resurrection of the body,

and life everlasting.

Amen.

COMMUNION ANTIPHON

LATIN

Si diligitis me, 

mandata mea servate, 

dicit Dominus.

Et ego rogabo Patrem, 

et alium Paraclitum dabit vobis,

ut maneat vobiscum in æternum,

alleluia.

ENGLISH

If you love me, 

keep my commandments, 

says the Lord,

and I will ask the Father 

and he will send you

another Paraclete,

to abide with you for ever,

alleluia.

PRAYER AFTER COMMUNION 

LATIN

Omnipotens sempiterne Deus,

qui ad æternam vitam in Christi

resurrectione nos reparas,

fructus in nobis paschalis 

multiplica sacramenti,

et fortitudinem cibi salutaris

nostris infunde pectoribus.

Per Christum Dominum nostrum.

R.) Amen.

ENGLISH 

Almighty ever-living God,

who restore us to eternal life 

in the Resurrection of Christ,

increase in us, we pray, 

the fruits of this paschal Sacrament

and pour into our hearts

 the strength of this saving food. 

Through Christ our Lord.

R.) Amen.

Leave a comment