PRAYER TO ST PATRICK

O BLESSED APOSTLE OF IRELAND!

GLORIOUS ST PATRICK! 

Who did become the father

and benefactor of the land long

before my birth,

receive my prayers,

and accept the sentiments of gratitude

and veneration with which

my heart is filled towards you.

You are the channel of my grateful 

thanksgiving to God for having granted,

through you the precious gift of faith

which is dearer to  us than life.

O most blessed father

and patron of that country! 

Do not, I beseech you despise my weakness.

Remember that the cries of little children 

were the mysterious indication that you did receive to go.

Listen, then,

to my most humble supplication ;

I unite them to the praises and blessings

which will ever follow

your name and your memory

through the Irish Church.

I unite them to the prayers of the multitude

of our ancestors, who now enjoy eternal bliss

and owe their salvation,

under God, to your zeal and charity.

The will eternally share your glory, 

because they listened to your word

and followed your example.

Ah since I am descended from saints 

I will not go against them,

may I begin from this moment

so to love God with all my heart

and serve Him with all my strength.

For this end,

I most humbly beg your blessing,

O GREAT ST PATRICK! 

And your particular intercession,

for obtaining whatever grace

you see to be most necessary for me.

AMEN. 

 

 

Leave a comment