3RD OF DECEMBER – MEMORIAL OF ST FRANCIS XAVIER – FIRST READING – 1 CORINTHIANS 9:16-19.22-23

THIRD OF DECEMBER

MEMORIAL OF  SAINT FRANCIS XAVIER

ENTRANCE ANTIPHON

I will praise you, Lord, among the nations;

I will tell of your name to my kin.

COLLECT

O God, who through the preaching

of Saint Francis Xavier

won many people to yourself,

grant that the hearts of the faithful

 may burn with the same zeal for the faith

and that Holy Church may everywhere rejoice

in an abundance of offspring.

Through our Lord Jesus Christ,

your Son,

who lives and reigns with you

in the unity of the Holy Spirit,

God,

for ever and ever.

R.) Amen.

FIRST READING 

.

1 CORINTHIANS 9:16-19.22-23

A READING FROM THE FIRST LETTER OF SAINT PAUL TO THE CORINTHIANS

(I SHOULD BE PUNISHED IF I DID NOT PREACH THE GOSPEL.)

I do not boast of preaching the gospel,

since it is a duty which has been laid on me;

I should be punished if I did not preach it!

If I had chosen this work myself, I might have been paid for it,

but as I have not,

it is a responsibility which has been put into my hands.

Do you know what my reward is?

It is this: In my preaching, 

to be able to offer the Good News free,

and not insist on the rights which the Gospel gives me.

So though I am not a slave of any man 

I have made myself the slave of everyone

so as to win as many as I could.

For the weak I made myself weak. 

I made myself all things to all men 

in order to save some at any cost;

and I still do this,

for the sake of the Gospel,

to have a share in its blessing.

The word of the Lord.

R.) Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment