SEVENTH WEEK OF EASTER – THURSDAY – GOSPEL READING – JOHN 17:20-26

EASTER WEEK VII 

THURSDAY   

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION

Alleluia, alleluia!

I will send you

the Spirit of truth,

says the Lord;

he will lead you to

the complete truth. 

Alleluia! 

GOSPEL READING

JOHN 17:20-26 

A READING FROM THE HOLY GOSPEL ACCORDING TO JOHN

(MAY THEY BE COMPLETELY ONE.) 

Jesus

raised his eyes to heaven

and said:

“Holy Father,

I pray not only for these,

but for those also

who through their words

will believe in me.

May they all be one.

Father,

may they be one in us,

as you are in me

and I am in you,

so that the world

may believe it was you

who sent me.

I have given them the glory

you gave to me,

that they may be one

as we are one.

With me in them

and you in me,

may they be

so completely one

that the world will realise

that it was you who sent me

and that I have loved them

as much as you loved me.

Father,

I want those you have given me

to be with me

where I am,

so that they may always see

the glory

you have given me

because

you loved me

before the foundation

of the world.

Father,

Righteous One,

the world has not known you,

but I have known you,

and these have known that

you have sent me.

I have made your name

known to them

and will continue to

make it known,

so that

the love with which

you loved me

may be in them,

and so that I may

be in them.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.) Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

COMMUNION ANTIPHON 

I tell you the truth,

it is for your good that I go;

for if I do not go away,

the Paraclete will not come to you,

says the Lord, 

alleluia. 

PRAYER AFTER COMMUNION 

May the mysteries we have received,

O Lord,

we pray,

enlighten us by

the instruction they bring

and restore us

through our participation in them,

that we may merit the gifts

of the Spirit. 

Through Christ our Lord. 

R.) Amen. 

Leave a comment