TWENTY-SECOND OF FEBRUARY – FEAST OF THE CHAIR OF SAINT PETER THE APOSTLE – FIRST READING (1 PETER 5:1-4)

A READING FROM THE FIRST LETTER OF SAINT PETER 

(I AM AN ELDER MYSELF AND A WITNESS TO THE SUFFERINGS OF CHRIST.) 

NOW

I have something to tell

your elders:

I am an elder myself,

and a witness

to the sufferings of Christ,

and with you

I have a share in the glory

that is to be revealed.

BE THE SHEPHERDS

of the flock of God

that is entrusted to you:

watch over it,

not simply as a duty

but gladly,

because God wants it;

not for sordid money,

but because

you are eager to do it.

NEVER BE A DICTATOR

over any group

that is put in your charge,

but be an example

that the whole flock

can follow.

WHEN YOUR CHIEF SHEPHERD APPEARS,

you will be given

the crown of unfading glory.

The word of the Lord.

R.) Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment