Bible Reading (Romans 15:14-21)

(I am a priest of Jesus Christ among the pagans so as to make them acceptable as an offering.)

My brothers,

I am quite certain

that you are full of good intentions,

perfectly well instructed

and able to advise each other.

The reason why I have written to you,

and put some things rather strongly

is to refresh your memories,

since God has given me

this special position.

He has appointed me as

a priest of Jesus Christ,

and I am to carry out my priestly duty

by bringing the Good News from Godto the pagans,

and so make them acceptable

as an offering, made holy by the Holy Spirit.

I think I have some reason

to be proud of what I,

in union with Christ Jesus,

have been able to do for God.

What I am presuming to speak of,

of course,

is only what Christ himself has done

to win the allegiance of the pagans,

using what I have said and done

by the power of signs and wonders,

by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Thus, all the way along,

from Jerusalem to Illyricum,

I have preached Christ’s Good News

to the utmost of my capacity.

I have always, however,

made it an unbroken rule

never to preach where Christ’s name

has already been heard.

The reason for that was

that I had no wish

to build on other men’s foundations;

on the contrary,

my chief concern has been to fulfil the text:

Those who have never been told

about him will see him,

and those who have never heard about him

will understand.

The word of the Lord.

R.) Thanks be to God.

 

Leave a Reply

