Night Prayers

+ In the mame of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

Amen.

Blessed be the holy and undivided Trinity, now and for ever.

Amen.

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name.Thy Kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us, and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

Amen.

Hail, Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee: blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now, and at the hour of our death.

Amen.

I believe in God, the Father almighty, Creator of heaven and earth, and in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried; he descended into hell; on the third day he rose again from the dead; he ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of God the Father almighty; from there he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting.

Amen.

Come O Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful, and kindle in them the fire of your love.

Amen.

V.) Send forth your Spirit and they shall be created.

R.) And you shall renew the face of the earth.

Let us pray,

O God who has taught the hearts of the faithful by the light of the Holy Spirit, grant that, by the gift of the same Spirit, we may be always truly wise, and ever rejoice in his consolation.

Through Christ our Lord.

Amen.

Let us place ourselves in the presence of God, and give him thanks for all the benefits which we have received from him, particularly today.

O my God, I firmly believe that you are here, and perfectly see me, and that you observe all my actions, all my thoughts, and the most secret motions of my heart.

You watch over me with an incomparable love, every moment bestowing favours and preserving me from evil.

Blessed be your holy name, and may all creatures bless your goodness for the benefits which I have ever received from you, and particularly today.

May the Saints and Angels make up for my defects in giving you due thanks.

Never permit me to repay your bounties with ingratitude, and your blessings with offences and injuries.

Let us ask our Lord Jesus Christ the grace to discover the sins which we have committed today, and beg of him a true sorrow for them, and a sincere repentance.

O my Lord Jesus Christ, Judge of the living and dead, before whom I must appear one day to give an exact account of my whole life;

enlighten me, I beg you, and give me a humble and contrite heart, that I may see where I have offended your infinite majesty;

and judge myself now with such a just severity, that then you may judge me with mercy and clemency.

Let us here examine what sins we have committed today, by thoughts, word, deed or omission. (If you cannot think of any sin you have committed today, renew your sorrow for the sins of your past life). Let us conceive a great sorrow for having offended God.

O my God, I detest these and all other sins which I have committed against your divine majesty,

I am extremely sorry that I have offended you, because you are infinitely good and sin displeases you.

I love you with my whole heart, and firmly propose, by the help of your grace, never more to offend you.

I resolve to avoid the occasions of sins; I will confess my sins, and will endeavour to make reparation for them.

Have mercy on me, O God,have mercy, and pardon me, a wretched sinner.

In the name of your beloved Son, Jesus, I humbly beg you to wash me with his Precious Blood so that my sins may be entirely remitted.

To Our Blessed Lady, for the grace of a happy death,

Hail, holy Queen, mother of Mercy; hail, our life, our sweetness, and our hope!

To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve; to thee do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this vale of tears.

Turn then, most gracious advocate, thine eyes of mercy towards us; and after this our exile, show to us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary.

V.) Pray for us, O holy Mother of God.

R.) That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

In honour of the Immaculate Conception of Mary, to obtain purity of soul and body,

(Three times)

Hail, Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee: blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now, and at the hour of our death.

Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and soul.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, may I breathe forth my soul in peace with you.

 

Leave a Reply

