July 29th Memorial of St Martha Gospel Reading (John 11:19-17 OR Luke 10:38-42)

JOHN 11:19-27

(I believe that you are the Christ, the Son of the living God.)

Many Jews had come to Martha and Mary to sympathise with them over their brother.

When Martha heard that Jesus had come  she went to meet him.

Mary remained sitting in the house.

Martha said to Jesus, “If you had been here, my brother would not have died, but I know that, even now, whatever you ask of God, he will grant you.”

“Your brother”, said Jesus to her, “will rise again.”

Martha said, “I know he will rise again at the resurrection on the last day”.

Jesus said, ” I am the resurrection. If anyone believes in me, even though he dies he will live, and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this? ”

“Yes Lord,” she said, “I believe that you are the Christ, the Son of God, the one who was to come into this world.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.) Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

OR

LUKE 10:38-42

(Martha, Martha, you worry and fret about so many things.)

Jesus came to a village, and a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house.

She had a sister called Mary, who sat down at the Lord’s feet and listened to him speaking. Now Martha who was distracted with all the serving said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister is leaving me to do the serving all by myself? Please tell her to help me.”

But the Lord answered: “Martha, Martha,” he said “you worry and fret about so many things, and yet few are needed, indeed only one. It is Mary who has chosen the better part; it is not to be taken from her.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.) Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

 

Leave a Reply

