July 22nd Memorial of St Mary Magdalene, Bible Reading, (Song of Songs 3:1-4 OR Corinthians 5:14-17)

Song of songs 3:1-4

(I found him whom my heart loves.)

The bride says this:
On my bed, at night, I sought him
whom my heart loves.
I sought but did not find him.
So I will rise and go through the City;
in the streets and the squares
I will seek him whom my heart loves.
I sought but did not find him.
The watchmen came upon me
on their rounds in the City:
“Have you seen him whom my heart loves?”
Scarcely I had passed them
than I found him whom my heart loves.

The word of the Lord.
R.) Thanks be to God.

OR

Corinthians 5:14-17

(Even if we did once know Christ in the flesh, that is not how we know him now.)

The love of Christ overwhelms us when we reflect that if one man has died for all, then all men should be dead; and the reason he died for all was so that living men should live no longer for themselves, but for him who died and was raised to life for them.

From now onwards, therefore, we do not judge anyone by the standards of the flesh. Even if we did once know Christ in the flesh, that is not how we know him now. And for anyone who is in Christ, there is a new creation; the old creation has gone, and now the new one is here.

The word of the Lord.
R.) Thanks be to God.

 

Leave a Reply

