Prayer Before A Crucifix

Behold, O good and most sweet Jesus, I cast myself upon my knees in Thy sight, and with the most fervent desire of my soul I pray and beseech Thee, that Thou wouldst impress upon my heart lively sentiments of Faith, Hope, and Charity, with true sorrow for my sins and a firm desire of amendment, whilst with deep affection and grief of soul I consider within myself and mentally contemplate Thy Five Most Precious Wounds: having before my eyes what the Prophet David put in Thy mouth concerning Thee, O good Jesus: “They have dug my hands and my feet, they have numbered all my bones.”

 

(St Anthony’s Treasury 1916)

Leave a Reply

