You lifted my life from the pit, O Lord (Jonah 2:3-5.8)

RESPONSORIAL PSALM (JONAH 2:3-5, 8)

R. You lifted my life from the pit, O Lord.

 

1. Out of my distress I cried to the Lord

and he answered me;

from the belly of Sheol I cried,

and you have heard my voice. (R.)

 

2. You cast me into the abyss, into the heart of the sea,

and the flood surrounded me.

All your waves, your billows,

washed over me. (R.)

 

3. And I said: I am cast out

from your sight.

How shall I ever look again

on your holy Temple? (R.)

 

4. While my soul was fainting within me,

I remembered the Lord,

and my prayer came before you

into your holy Temple. (R.)

 

ALLELUIA

 

Alleluia, alleluia!

Your words are spirit, Lord,

and they are life:

you have the message of eternal life.

Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

