24TH OF JUNE – SOLEMNITY OF THE NATIVITY OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST – SECOND READING – ACTS 13:22-26

TWENTY-FOURTH OF JUNE

SOLEMNITY OF THE NATIVITY OF SAINT JOHN THE BAPTIST

SECOND READING

ACTS 13:22-26

A READING FROM THE ACTS OF THE APOSTLES

(JESUS, WHOSE COMING WAS HERALDED BY JOHN.) 

Paul said:

“God made David the king of our ancestors, 

of whom he approved in these words,

‘I have selected David son of Jesse, 

a man after my own heart, 

who will carry out my whole purpose.’

To keep his promise, 

God has raised up for Israel 

one of David’s descendants, 

Jesus, as Saviour,

whose coming was heralded by John 

when he proclaimed a baptism of repentance

 for the whole people of Israel.

Before John ended his career he said,

‘I am not the one you imagine me to be; 

that one is coming after me 

and I am not fit to undo his sandal.’

My brothers, sons of Abraham’s race, 

and all you who fear God, 

this message of salvation is meant for you.”

The word of the Lord.

R.)  Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment