23RD OF JUNE – SOLEMNITY OF THE NATIVITY OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST – VIGIL MASS – FIRST READING – JEREMIAH 1:4-10

TWENTY-THIRD OF JUNE

SOLEMNITY OF THE NATIVITY OF SAINT JOHN THE BAPTIST

VIGIL MASS

ENTRANCE ANTIPHON

LATIN

Hic erit magnus coram Domino,

et Spiritu Sancto replebitur

adhuc ex utero matris suæ,

et multi in nativitate eius

gaudebunt.

ENGLISH

He will be great in the sight of the Lord 

and will be filled with the Holy Spirit,

even from his mother’s womb;

and many will rejoice at his birth.

GLORIA

LATIN

Gloria in excelsis Deo

et in terra pax hominibus bonæ voluntatis.

Laudamus te,

benedicimus te,

adoramus te,

glorificamus te,

gratias agimus tibi propter

magnam gloriam tuam,

Domine Deus,

Rex cælestis,

Deus Pater omnipotens.

Domine Fili Unigenite,

Iesu Christe,

Domine  Deus,

Agnus Dei,

Filius Patris,

qui tollis peccata mundi,

miserere nobis,

qui tollis peccata mundi,

suscipe deprecationem nostram.

Qui sedes ad dexteram Patris,

miserere nobis.

Quoniam tu solus Sanctus,

tu solus Dominus,

tu solus Altissimus,

Iesu Christe,

cum Sancto Spiritu:

in gloria Dei Patris.

Amen.

ENGLISH

Glory to God in the highest,

and on earth peace to people of good will.

We praise you,

we bless you,

we adore you,

we glorify you,

we give you thanks for your great glory,

Lord God, heavenly King,

O God, almighty Father,

Lord Jesus Christ,

Only Begotten Son,

Lord God,

Lamb of God,

Son of the Father,

you take away the sins of the world,

have mercy on us,

you take away the sins of the world,

receive our prayer;

you are seated at the right hand of the Father,

have mercy on us.

For you alone are the Holy One,

you alone are the Lord,

you alone are the Most High,

Jesus Christ,

with the Holy Spirit,

in the glory of God the Father.

Amen.

COLLECT

LATIN

Præsta, quæsumus, omnipotens Deus,

ut familia tua per viam salutis incedat,

et, beati Ioannis Præcursoris hortamenta sectando,

ad eum quem prædixit, secura perveniat,

Dominum nostrum Iesum Christum.

Qui tecum vivit et regnat

in unitate Spiritus Sancti,

Deus,

per omnia sæcula sæculorum.

R.) Amen.

ENGLISH

Grant, we pray, almighty God,

that your family may walk in the way of salvation and,

attentive to what Saint John the Precursor urged,

may come safely to the One he foretold,

our Lord Jesus Christ.

Who lives and reigns with you

in the unity of the Holy Spirit,

God,

for ever and ever.

R.) Amen.

FIRST READING

JEREMIAH 1:4-10

A READING FROM THE PROPHET JEREMIAH

(BEFORE I FORMED YOU IN THE WOMB, I KNEW YOU.) 

In the days of Josiah,

the word of the Lord was addressed to me, saying,

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you;

before you came to birth I consecrated you;

I have appointed you as prophet to the nations.”

I said,

“Ah, Lord; look, I do not know how to speak:

 I am a child!”

But the Lord replied,

“Do not say, ‘I am a child.’ 

Go now to those to whom I send you 

and say whatever I command you.

Do not be afraid of them, 

for I am with you to protect you

– it is the Lord who speaks!”

Then the Lord put out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me:

“There! I am putting my words into your mouth.

Look, today I am setting you 

over nations and over kingdoms,

to tear up and to knock down, 

to destroy and to overthrow,

 to build and to plant.”

The word of the Lord.

R.)  Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment