22ND OF JUNE – FEAST OF STS JOHN FISHER AND THOMAS MORE – GOSPEL READING – MATTHEW 24:4-13

TWENTY-SECOND OF JUNE

FEAST OF SAINT JOHN FISHER & THOMAS MORE, MARTYRS

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION

Alleluia, alleluia!

Happy those who are persecuted in the cause of right,

for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Alleluia!

GOSPEL READING

MATTHEW 24:4-13

A READING FROM THE HOLY GOSPEL ACCORDING TO MATTHEW

(YOU WILL BE HATED BY ALL THE NATIONS ON ACCOUNT OF MY NAME.)

Jesus said to his disciples,

“Take care that no one deceives you;

 because many will come using my name 

and saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ 

and they will deceive many.

You will hear of wars and rumours of wars;

 do not be alarmed, 

for this is something that must happen,

 but the end will not be yet.

For nation will fight against nation,

 and kingdom against kingdom.

There will be famines and earthquakes 

here and there.

All this is only the beginning of the birth-pangs.

Then they will hand you over to be tortured 

and put to death;

 and you will be hated by all the nations 

on account of my name.

And then many will fall away;

 men will betray one another 

and hate one another.

Many false prophets will arise; 

they will deceive many, 

and with the increase of lawlessness, 

love in most men will grow cold;

but the man who stands firm to the end

 will be saved.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.) Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

ALTERNATIVE GOSPEL READING

MATTHEW 10:34-39

A READING FROM THE HOLY GOSPEL ACCORDING TO MATTHEW

(IT IS NOT PEACE I HAVE COME TO BRING, BUT A SWORD.) 

Jesus said to his apostles:

“Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth:

it is not peace I have come to bring, but a sword.

For I have come to set a man against his father,

a daughter against her mother,

a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law.

A man’s enemies will be those of his own household.

“Anyone who prefers father or mother to me

 is not worthy of me.

Anyone who prefers son or daughter to me 

is not worthy of me.

Anyone who does not take his cross 

and follow in my footsteps 

is not worthy of me.

Anyone who finds his life 

will lose it;

anyone who loses his life for my sake 

will find it.”

The Gospel of the Lord.

R.) Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

PRAYER OVER THE OFFERINGS

Receive, holy Father,

the offerings we bring

on the feast of the holy Martyrs

 Saints John Fisher and Thomas More,

and grant that we, your servants,

may be found steadfast

in confessing your name.

Through Christ our Lord.

R.) Amen.  

COMMUNION ANTIPHON

It is you who have stood by me in my trials;

and I confer a kingdom on you, says the Lord,

that you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom.

OR:

Holy men shed their

glorious blood for the Lord;

they loved Christ in their life,

they imitated him in their death,

and therefore were crowned in triumph.

PRAYER AFTER COMMUNION

O God, who in your holy Martyrs

have wonderfully made known

the mystery of the Cross,

graciously grant that, 

drawing strength from this sacrifice,

we may cling faithfully to Christ

and labour in the Church for the salvation of all.

Through Christ our Lord.

R.) Amen.

OR:

Renew us Lord, we pray,

with the food from heaven,

and strengthen us by the example

and prayers of your Martyrs

Saints John Fisher and Thomas More,

so that, always following the voice of conscience,

we may ever be your good servants.

Through Christ our Lord.

R.) Amen.

Leave a comment