20TH OF JUNE – MEMORIAL OF ST ALBAN, MARTYR – FIRST READING – 2 TIMOTHY 2:8-13.3:10-12

TWENTIETH OF JUNE

MEMORIAL OF SAINT ALBAN, MARTYR

ENGLAND 

COLLECT

O God, by whose grace Saint Alban

gave himself up for his friend

 and received the martyr’s crown

as the first in this land

to shed his blood for Christ,

grant, we pray,

that following his example

 and supported by his prayers

we may worship you, the living God,

and give true witness to Christ our Lord.

Who lives and reigns with you

in the unity of the Holy Spirit,

God,

for ever and ever.

FIRST READING

2 TIMOTHY 2:8-13.3:10-12

A READING FROM THE SECOND LETTER OF SAINT PAUL TO TIMOTHY

(ANYBODY WHO TRIES TO LIVE IN DEVOTION TO CHRIST IS CERTAIN TO BE ATTACKED.)

Remember the Good News that I carry,

Jesus Christ risen from the dead,

 sprung from the race of David”;

it is on account of this that I have my own hardships to bear,

even being chained like a criminal

– but they cannot chain up God’s news.

So bear it all for the sake of those who are chosen,

so that in the end they may have

the salvation that is in Christ Jesus

and the eternal glory that comes with it.

Here is a saying that you can rely on:

if we have died with him, then we shall live with him;

if we hold firm, then we shall reign with him;

if we disown him, then he will disown us;

we may be unfaithful, but he is always faithful,

for he cannot disown his own self.

You know,  though, what I have taught, 

how I  lived, what I have aimed at;

you know my faith, my patience and my love;

my constancy and the persecutions

and hardships that came to me in places like

Antioch, Iconium and Lystra

– all the persecutions I have endured;

and the Lord has rescued me from every one of them.

You are well aware, then,

that anybody who tries to live in devotion to Christ

is certain to be attacked.

The word of the Lord.

R.) Thanks be to God.

Leave a comment